The Twelfth Edition of Tata Literature Live! The Mumbai Litfest
Thursday, November 18th to Sunday, November 21st 2021

Virtual Festival
Real Books

Live on YouTube, Facebook,
Twitter & Instagram

  • Monday, 16th Nov
  • 7:45 pm - 8:45 pm IST

There is currently a global debate around the words “nation”, “national”, “nationality” and “nationalism”. Nationality is sometimes being cast in ethno-religious terms, while critics of many dispensations are called “anti-national”. In such an atmosphere, it is more important than ever to understand these terms in their full complexity. Many scholars have recognised that nationalism and nation-states were not timeless notions but emerged in a specific historical period in a particular part of the world. This session unravels these ideas, their origins, their evolution over time, and their specific manifestations in the Indian context.


Christophe Jaffrelot

Christophe Jaffrelot is an author, journalist and an academician. He is Director of research at CERI Sciences Po/ CNRS.

More Info

Shashi Tharoor

Dr Shashi Tharoor is a third-term Member of Parliament for Thiruvananthapuram and a bestselling author.

More Info

Gargi Rawat

Gargi Rawat is a senior news anchor and environment reporter with NDTV 24X7.

More Info

Books In The Session

Hindu Nationalism : A Reader

  • Christophe Jaffrelot

The Battle Of Belonging : On Nationalism, Patriotism, And What It Means To Be Indian

  • Shashi Tharoor


Mariwala Charities

Supported By



You May Also Like

The Unquiet American

  • Monday, 16th Nov
  • 9:00 pm - 10:00 pm IST

The politics and economics of US foreign intervention.

A panel discussion with Michael Hudson & Vijay Prashad with Suhasini Haider as the chair.

  • Wednesday, 18th Nov
  • 9:00 pm - 10:00 pm IST

What the election result means for the US and the world.
A panel discussion with Bhaskar Sunkara, Nathan Robinson, Seema Sirohi, Puneet Ahluwalia and Gargi Rawat as the chair.

Debate : Indian Democracy Is In Danger

  • Thursday, 19th Nov
  • 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm IST

For The Motion : Mallika Sarabhai & Shashi Tharoor
Against The Motion : R. Jagannathan & Shazia Ilmi
Chair : Vir Sanghvi

View Full Schedule